Dunster First School

Expect the best in everything then play your part in achieving it

Google Services

Google Search
Google Translate

Contact Details


Swipe content


The Moorland Federation

Growing together; learning for life.


The Moorland Federation is a supportive network of five schools in: Dunster, Timberscombe, Cutcombe, Porlock, and Exford. The Federation was formed to ensure the high quality of education in each of the First Schools is sustained through an exciting and forward thinking group of governors and Head teachers working with dedicated and highly trained staff.  We are a group of rural schools who are innovative and forward thinking in our approach to school development, proud of our local heritage and stunning landscape, who are all dedicated to improving the life chances of every child.  The Head teachers, and all staff, work highly cohesively, sharing good practice and workload to deliver the very best quality of education to our amazing pupils.


We also undertake school to school support, share CPD opportunities and fully engage with the Opportunity Area activities.  Naomi Philp, LLE, Head teacher of Dunster First School and Timberscombe CoE First School, leads on the professional development strand for the whole of West Somerset as part of the Priority 2 group.  This involves working with the LA and the Teaching Partnership School on SEND strategy and training, Working with SCILL, SCITT, BCAT, Exeter University, The Research School, EEF and Teach First delivering teacher and staff training in a variety of areas.  If schools are interested in training and development opportunities they are more than welcome to get in touch to discuss their needs.  


For information: The clerk to the governors is: Richard Rosslyn. The Chair of Governors is: Helen Jenkinson.



Governors Book Scrutiny

Moorland Board of Governors

NameTypeTerm of OfficeDate Stepped DownBusiness InterestsRelationships to staff / governorsResponsible For:Prior Year Attendance BOGPrior Year Attendance Commitee
Alison AppleyardHead01.09.19    100n/a

Ann Gibbs

Ex Officio

30.11.17 - 


Catherine HaydenParent Governor

10.05.19 -


Paul JamesStaff Governor

08.11.19 -


Helen Jenkinson



07.07.21 -


Frances Nicholson



25.05.20 -


Alison OakleyActing Head01.09.20    100n/a
Naomi PhilpActing Head04.09.017    100n/a
Jill Schofield


Ellsworth Trust

15.01.21 -


Dan StoneParent Governor

10.05.19 -



Related to member

of staff at Exford

and at Cutcombe

Richard RosslynClerk       


Previous Governors (last twelve months)

NameDate of AppointmentDate Stepped DownType
Chris Blazey 04.09.1731.08.20  Headteacher    
Rosemary Boaz23.09.2029.04.21Co-opted
Pete Mountstephen26.02.1810.06.21Sub Ex Officio - Vice Chair
Andrew Pearce25.08.2028.05.21Sub Ex Officio
Chris Richards04.09.1708.04.21Sub Ex Officio - Chair